Do not measure the impact of the Green Climate Fund- only – by its billions

7 November 2019 - Blog post - By : Alice PAUTHIER

On 25 October, a conference was held in Paris to “replenish” the resources of the Green Climate Fund. 27 countries have made pledges, for a total amount of nearly $10 billion. Good news? Insufficient? For Alice Pauthier of I4CE, the impact of the Green Climate Fund should not only be assessed against this figure. The Fund also has a transformational effect, particularly on the many financial institutions that, in order to access its resources, must follow an accreditation process. A process that may well become more and more demanding.

 

 

Nearly $10 billion for the Green Climate Fund, a rather positive signal

Created in December 2010, the Green Climate Fund is the main tool used by the United Nations to contribute to the so-called “100 billion” target. This policy objective aims to support action by developing and least developed countries on climate change mitigation and adaptation through a financial support of $100 billion per year from 2020. This objective was reaffirmed in the Paris Agreement, which defines it as a “floor” to be raised after 2025.

 

With 111 approved projects and programmes to date, a “replenishment” of the Green Climate Fund’s resources was necessary to ensure the continuity of its operations.  This replenishment was also necessary to ensure the confidence of developing countries in a context where they are called upon, like all countries, to increase the ambition of their national climate policies by 2020.

 

Following major governance problems and the announcement of the United States’ contribution withdrawal in 2017, the mobilization of substantial contributions was far from guaranteed. However, by the end of October, 27 countries had pledged a total of $9,776 billion to the Green Climate Fund. This represents a level of resources almost equivalent to that initially promised in the first cycle of the Fund’s operations.

 

While some have welcomed this positive signal from developed countries, others have shown more mixed reactions. And some NGOs such as Oxfam are calling on developed countries that have not yet announced a contribution to do so by COP25.

 

 

Beyond the amount, let’s look at the direct and indirect impact of each cent

However, the impact of the Green Climate Fund cannot be assessed solely on the basis of this figure of 10 billion. This Fund is intended to multiply the direct and indirect impact of each cent collected and differs from other climate funds in its vocation to promote a “paradigm shift”. The mandate of the Green Climate Fund is to provide financial support for projects and programs that promote “transformational” impacts.

 

In concrete terms, this means that its resources are not allocated to simple solar power plant projects that could be financed by other market players, but to projects that have the potential, for example, to create new markets in renewable energies, to create the conditions to attract private financing in energy efficiency or to mainstream adaptation practices. These transformational projects are necessary to achieve the ambitious objectives of the Paris Agreement. It is one concrete example of the idea of ‘transformational impacts’ which is at the heart of the concept of Alignment as defined by I4CE in a recent report.

 

Figure 1: The Paris Alignment ‘Bulls Eye’ proposed by I4CE : actively support national and international transformations across all activities

 

 

To focus on transformational projects, the Green Climate Fund has already included among its project assessment criteria the “Paradigm shift potential” and is currently testing an indicator for a one-year pilot phase. The indicator(s) that will finally be selected could have a significant influence on the desired impact of projects financed by the Green Climate Fund in its second phase.

 

 

An influence on all operations of 88 financial institutions

The Green Climate Fund’s influence also lies in the accreditation process that financial institutions must follow to access its resources. Indeed, the Green Climate Fund does not directly finance projects. Projects are carried out through intermediaries: public or private, local, regional or international banks. Among the 88 accredited financial institutions are for example the World Bank, the West African Development Bank, or the National Development Banks of Fiji, Brazil or South Africa – but also Crédit Agricole, BNP or HSBC. To access the Green Climate Fund resources, these financial institutions must follow an accreditation process to ensure that they meet certain social, environmental and other standards.

 

This procedure is perceived by some actors as long and tedious. But it has an advantage: it makes it possible to initiate or strengthen climate mainstreaming processes in the strategies and operations of financial institutions, as demonstrated by CDG Capital – the Moroccan investment bank, subsidiary of the Caisse de Dépôt et de Gestion of Morocco – in a case study on the development of its climate strategy.

 

This accreditation to the Green Climate Fund is valid for a 5 years period, at the end of which the institution has to carry out its “re-accreditation”. No financial institution has yet had to be reaccredited, and at this time no specific criteria have been adopted for this reaccreditation procedure. Given the importance of this procedure in engaging financial institutions in the integration of climate change considerations, let us hope that the Green Climate Fund will define criteria that are sufficiently ambitious, but also operational and relevant to the wide range of accredited institutions and activities they undertake. The 5 voluntary Principles of the Climate Action in Financial Institutions initiative, for which I4CE is the Secretariat since 2016, could serve as a basis for such criteria. They had been defined by public and private financial institutions to guide their efforts in climate mainstreaming and are already supported by 44 institutions representing more than 14 trillion of assets.

To learn more
  • 01/20/2023 Foreword of the week
    2023’s resolutions for a reform of development finance

    2022 ended up on a consensus that the global financial architecture is no longer “fit for purpose”. In other words, the financial ecosystem created post-war to support international development – at the centre of which are the IMF and the World Bank who were joined later by other international public financial institutions – wasn’t designed to address the multiplicity of challenges the world is facing today, foremost among which climate change. Time is running, and the good news is that 2023 is set up to be a busy year with key events setting the milestones for a reform of the international financial architecture, including a Paris Summit in June. The year will close at COP 28, where we will officially take stock of current achievements.

  • 01/19/2023 Blog post
    Here’s to an impactful new year for financial reform

    2023 will be busy with many events organised to address different parts of the financial architecture reform, including a Paris Summit in June. Alice Pauthier from [i4ce] tells you more about this agenda and identifies two conditions for a successful reform process. First, it has to be led by countries’ financing needs… wheras we are still lacking a granular analysis of countries’ investment needs for a sustainable development. Second, it has to be guided by the objective of maximising the impact of public finance. What we should count is the impact of public finance on the transition and not only volumes.

  • 01/16/2023
    Landscape of climate finance in France – 2022 edition

    2022, France is paying dearly for a dependence on fossil fuels maintained by a chronic lack of investment in the decarbonisation of the economy. This edition of the Landscape of climate finance in France makes a detailed analysis of these critical expenditures by households, companies and public authorities, in the retrofitting of buildings, the purchase of electric vehicles, and renewable energies, as well as in rail, cycling and urban public transport infrastructures. Encouragingly, climate investments have increased significantly in the past year, driven, among other factors, by favourable regulations and by state support under the recovery plan. But this growth remains fragile, and analysis of several transition scenarios shows that climate investments need to increase further in order to stay on track to carbon neutrality and to ensure a lasting reduction in France’s dependence on fossil fuels.

See all publications
Press contact Amélie FRITZ Head of Communication and press relations Email
Subscribe to our mailing list :
I register !
Subscribe to our newsletter
Once a week, receive all the information on climate economics
I register !
Fermer

Publications Banques publiques

Ne mesurons pas – seulement – l’intérêt du Fonds Vert à l’aune de ses milliards

7 novembre 2019 - Billet d'analyse - Par : Alice PAUTHIER

Le 25 octobre se tenait à Paris une conférence visant à « reconstituer » les ressources du Fonds vert pour le climat. 27 pays ont fait des promesses de don, pour un montant total de près de 10 milliards de dollars. Bonne nouvelle ? Insuffisant ? Pour Alice Pauthier d’I4CE, l’intérêt du Fonds vert ne doit pas seulement être évalué à l’aune de ce chiffre. Car le Fonds a aussi un effet transformateur, notamment sur les nombreuses institutions financières qui, pour accéder à ses ressources, doivent suivre un processus d’accréditation. Un processus qui pourrait bien devenir de plus en plus exigeant.

 

 

Près de 10 milliards de dollars pour le Fonds vert, un signal plutôt positif

Créé en décembre 2010, le Fonds vert pour le Climat constitue le principal outil mis en œuvre par les Nations Unies pour contribuer à l’objectif dit des « 100 milliards ». Cet objectif politique vise à soutenir l’action des pays en développement et des pays les moins avancés en matière d’atténuation et d’adaptation au changement climatique, via un soutien financier de 100 milliards de dollars par an à partir de 2020. Cet objectif a été réaffirmé dans l’Accord de Paris, qui le définit comme un « niveau plancher » qui devra être rehaussé après 2025.

 

Avec 111 projets et programmes approuvés à son actif, une « reconstitution » des ressources du Fonds vert était nécessaire pour assurer la continuité de ses opérations.  Cette reconstitution était également nécessaire pour assurer la confiance des pays en développement dans un contexte où ils sont appelés, comme tous les pays, à augmenter l’ambition de leurs politiques climatiques nationales d’ici à 2020.

 

Suite à d’importants problèmes de gouvernance et à l’annonce de l’arrêt de la contribution des Etats-Unis en 2017, la mobilisation de contributions substantielles était loin d’être garantie. Mais fin octobre, 27 pays avaient promis un total de 9.776 milliards de dollars au Fonds vert. Cela représente un niveau de ressources quasi équivalent à celui initialement promis lors du premier cycle d’opération du Fonds.

 

Si certains se félicitent de ce signal positif envoyé par les pays développés, d’autres affichent des réactions plus mitigées. Et certaines ONG comme Oxfam appellent les pays développés n’ayant pas encore annoncé de contribution à le faire d’ici la COP25.

 

 

Au-delà du montant, regardons l’impact direct et indirect de chaque centime

L’intérêt du Fonds vert ne saurait cependant être évalué seulement à l’aune de ce chiffre de 10 milliards. Car ce Fonds a vocation à décupler l’impact direct et indirect de chaque centime collecté. Il se distingue en effet des autres fonds climat par sa vocation à promouvoir un « changement de paradigme ». Le Fonds vert a pour mandat d’apporter un soutien financier aux projets et programmes qui promeuvent des impacts « transformationnels ».

 

Concrètement, cela veut dire que ses ressources ne sont pas allouées à de simples projets de centrales solaires qui pourraient être financés par d’autres acteurs sur le marché, mais à des projets qui ont par exemple le potentiel de créer de nouveaux marchés dans les énergies renouvelables, de créer les conditions pour attirer des financements privés dans le secteur de l’efficacité énergétique ou de systématiser certaines pratiques en matière d’adaptation. Ces projets transformationnels sont nécessaires pour atteindre les objectifs ambitieux de l’Accord de Paris. D’ailleurs, l’idée d’‘impacts transformationnels’ est au cœur du concept d’Alignement tel qu’I4CE l’a défini dans un récent rapport.

 

Figure 1 : La cible de l’Alignement proposée par I4CE : soutenir activement les transformations nationales et internationales à travers toutes ses activités

 

 

 

Pour privilégier les projets transformationnels, le Fonds vert a déjà intégré parmi les critères d’analyse de ses projets le « potentiel » à créer un changement de paradigme, et il teste actuellement un indicateur pour une phase pilote d’un an. Le ou les indicateurs qui seront finalement retenus pourraient avoir une influence importante sur l’impact recherché des projets financés par le Fonds vert lors de sa deuxième phase.

 

 

Une influence sur l’ensemble des opérations de 88 institutions financières

L’intérêt du Fonds vert réside aussi dans le processus d’accréditation que les institutions financières doivent suivre pour accéder à ses ressources. En effet, le Fonds vert ne finance pas directement des projets sur le terrain. Il passe par des intermédiaires : des banques publiques ou privées, locales ou internationales. Parmi les 88 institutions financières accréditées citons par exemple la Banque mondiale, la Banque Ouest Africaine de Développement, ou les Banques Nationales de Développement des Fidji, du Brésil ou d’Afrique du Sud – mais aussi Crédit Agricole, la BNP ou HSBC. Pour accéder aux ressources du Fonds vert, ces institutions financières doivent suivre un processus d’accréditation afin de garantir qu’elles respectent certains standards notamment sociaux et environnementaux.

 

Cette procédure est perçue par certains acteurs comme longue et fastidieuse. Mais elle a un avantage : elle permet d’initier ou de renforcer les processus d’intégration du climat dans les stratégies et opérations des institutions financières, comme en témoigne CDG Capital – la banque d’investissement marocaine, filiale de la Caisse de dépôt et de gestion du Maroc –  dans une étude de cas sur le développement de sa stratégie climat.

 

Cette accréditation au Fonds vert est valide pour une période de 5 ans, à l’issue de laquelle l’institution doit procéder à sa « réaccréditation ». Aucune institution financière n’a encore eu à se faire réaccréditer, et à l’heure actuelle aucun critère spécifique n’a été adopté pour cette procédure de réaccréditation. Etant donné l’importance de cette procédure pour inciter les institutions financières à intégrer les considérations climatiques dans leurs opérations, espérons que le Fonds vert définira des critères qui soient suffisamment ambitieux, mais également opérationnels et pertinents pour la grande diversité d’institutions accréditées et d’activités qu’elles mènent.

 

Les 5 principes volontaires de l’initiative Climate Action in Financial Institutions, dont I4CE assure le Secrétariat depuis 2016, pourraient servir de base pour de tels critères. Ils avaient été définis par des institutions financières publiques et privées pour guider leurs efforts en matière de « mainstreaming » du climat, et sont déjà soutenus par 44 institutions qui représentent plus que 14 000 milliards d’actifs.

Pour aller plus loin
  • 20/01/2023
    Financement du développement : les bonnes résolutions de 2023

    L’année 2022 a abouti à un consensus important : l’architecture financière mondiale n’est plus adaptée aux enjeux actuels. L’écosystème financier créé après-guerre pour soutenir le développement international (au centre duquel se trouvent le FMI et la Banque mondiale) n’a pas été conçu pour répondre à la multiplicité des crises auxquelles le monde est confronté aujourd’hui, au premier rang desquelles le dérèglement climatique. Le temps presse mais la bonne nouvelle est que l’année 2023 sera jalonnée d’évènements importants pour mener à bien la réforme de l’architecture financière internationale, dont le sommet de Paris en juin. Et l’année se terminera à la COP 28, où nous ferons officiellement le bilan des progrès réalisés pour atteindre les objectifs de l’Accord de Paris.

  • 19/01/2023 Billet d'analyse
    2023, l’année de la réforme du financement du développement

    L’année 2022 a abouti à un consensus international : l’architecture financière mondiale n’est plus adaptée aux enjeux actuels. 2023 sera une année de réforme pour le financement du développement, avec de nombreux événements organisés, dont un sommet à Paris, au mois de juin. Alors que les discussions se sont cristallisées autour de la nécessité d’augmenter les volumes de financement pour le développement, Alice Pauthier revient sur l’importance de mettre l’impact au cœur d’une réforme qui devra être tirée guidée au niveau local, par l’identification des besoins de financements pour la transition. Cette réforme est une opportunité à ne pas manquer et les Institutions Financières Publiques ont un rôle clé à jouer dans la future architecture internationale.

  • 15/12/2022
    Les limites des engagements climat volontaires des acteurs financiers privés

    La finance privée ne financera pas la transition sans un engagement plus fort des pouvoirs publics.
    Depuis plusieurs années, et particulièrement depuis la COP 26, beaucoup d’attention et de temps ont été consacrés aux engagements volontaires des acteurs financiers privés. Pris dans le cadre d’initiatives internationales, ces engagements doivent en principe permettre de mobiliser la finance privée au profit de la transition vers une économie neutre en carbone.

Voir toutes les publications
Contact Presse Amélie FRITZ Responsable communication et relations presse Email
Inscrivez-vous à notre liste de diffusion :
Je m'inscris !
Inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter
Une fois par semaine, recevez toute l’information de l’économie pour le climat.
Je m'inscris !
Fermer