“Using Carbon revenues”, new report from the World Bank, AFD and I4CE

23 August 2019 - Blog post - By : Sébastien POSTIC, Phd

The recent proliferation of carbon pricing schemes and the increase in associated prices have led to a significant increase in carbon-related revenues.  As of May 1, 2019, 25 carbon taxes and 26 emissions trading schemes (ETS) were in operation around the world. Jurisdictions covered by one or more explicit carbon prices account for about 60% of global GDP. The revenues associated with these carbon prices have doubled in two years, from $22 billion in 2016 to $44 billion in 2018. This trend is expected to continue in the future, due to increases in 1/ the number of taxes and ETSs, and 2/ the prices imposed by these systems: recent studies suggest that carbon prices around $70/tCO2 could generate revenues equivalent to 1-4 GDP points in 2030, almost everywhere in the world.

 

When used properly, these revenues can combine climate ambition with a wide variety of economic and/or social objectives, and thus contribute to effective communication on the benefits of such policies; history has shown that carbon prices are widely accepted by public policy specialists in the fight against climate change, but are widely mistrusted by the public. In this report, written with the World Bank and AFD, with valuable support from Vivid Economics, I4CE explores the underlying factors for various choices over the use of carbon revenues around the world, to provide a practical guide for decision-makers who are implementing or reassessing their national carbon price.

 

If there is one lesson to be learned from the national experiences examined in this report, it is that carbon revenue use is a highly empirical issue; the optimal use obviously depends very closely on the economic structure of the country involved, but also on its social context, its institutional framework and political forces; there is no universal solution for the use of carbon revenues. Nevertheless, the report focuses on six categories of use, which can be mixed according to the context:

 

  1. Tax reform, to target higher economic growth alongside lower pollution;
  2. Climate mitigation, by encouraging investment in low-carbon technologies;
  3. Pursuit of other development objectives, such as in education and health;
  4. Prevention of carbon leakage, to achieve carbon pricing’s environmental and economic objectives;
  5. Assistance for individuals, households, or businesses affected by carbon costs, through transfers or programs;
  6. Debt reduction, to lessen the debt burden on future generations.

 

The table below summarizes the advantages and limitations of these different revenue uses

 

Revenue use Benefits Limitations
Tax reform  

 

Can improve efficiency of the tax system and have a positive impact on economic growth

 

 

 

Can be less visible than alternative options, and tax cuts require targeting to compensate those affected by carbon price

 

Climate mitigation  

 

Can increase effectiveness of carbon price by addressing market failure

Can further reduce emissions in uncovered sectors

Can lead to greater public acceptance of carbon pricing

 

 

 

Can have high administrative costs relative to alternative revenue use options if existing allocation mechanisms are not in place

 

Pursuit of other development objectives  

 

Offers a cost-effective revenue source for funding development goals given barriers to accessing finance

Can drive public support if spent on issues of high public concern

 

 

 

Can have high administrative costs relative to alternative uses of revenue if existing allocation structures are not in place

 

Prevention of carbon leakage  

 

Reduces the risk of emissions increases in uncovered jurisdictions

Mitigates the negative impact on affected businesses in the short term

Has the potential to increase stakeholder support

 

 

 

Requires identifying sectors for compensation, which can be difficult

Requires careful design to reduce the risk of undermining climate objectives

 

Assistance for individuals, households, or businesses  

 

Can compensate affected individuals, households, or workers

Can have low administrative costs, if allocation structures already exist

 

 

 

Depending on design, can be less visible than alternative options if delivered through existing transfer systems, and therefore may have less public support

 

Debt reduction  

 

Frees up capital and reduces the economic burden of interest payments

 

 

 

Lacks visibility

Does not address short-term objectives

 

 

More information: 

I4CE Contacts
Sébastien POSTIC, Phd
Sébastien POSTIC, Phd
Project Manager – Industry, Energy and Climate Email
To learn more
  • 12/02/2022 Foreword of the week
    European Carbon Certification must be demanding… and appealing

    How can we differentiate between projects that really enable carbon to be stored and those that only claim to do so? This is a complicated question when dealing with projects in agriculture and forestry, where quantifying carbon storage is complex, and where other environmental challenges, like the preservation of biodiversity, must also be taken into account. A complicated question, therefore, but one that needs an answer! Private actors and public authorities want to ensure that the agricultural and forestry projects financed in the name of the climate have a real environmental benefit.

  • 12/01/2022 Blog post
    Carbon certification: the Commission publishes a stringent certification framework that should also be and appealing

    Yesterday, 30 november 2022, the European Commission adopted a proposal for a first EU-wide voluntary framework to reliably certify high-quality carbon removals. This proposal provides a framework, broad guiding principles, and the details will be specified in 2023 supported by an expert group on Carbon Removals. “The devil may be in the detail”, but the framing is no less important. Claudine Foucherot of [i4ce] has analysed it and identified four points on which we must be vigilant. Overall, it can be said that the Commission is submitting an ambitious proposal, which nevertheless presents a risk: not being sufficient incentives to ensure a massive deployment of certified projects.    

  • 11/18/2022 Foreword of the week
    COP27: let us remember the obvious about climate finance

    As COP27 draws to a close, let us remember the obvious: implementing the Paris Agreement will require financial flows from developed to developing countries. However, these flows are not just the much discussed $100 billion a year promised by the nations of the North to their counterparts in the South – a promise that has not been kept to date. And they are not just about budgetary flows either. More fundamentally, the architecture of development financing – or at least its climate component – needs to be reviewed in depth. It is therefore primarily the mission and modus operandi of the multilateral banks, and more broadly of the public development banks, that must be reviewed.

See all publications
Press contact Amélie FRITZ Head of Communication and press relations Email
Subscribe to our mailing list :
I register !
Subscribe to our newsletter
Once a week, receive all the information on climate economics
I register !
Fermer

Publications Certification carbone

« Usage des revenus carbone », nouveau rapport de la Banque Mondiale, l’AFD et I4CE

23 août 2019 - Billet d'analyse - Par : Dr. Sébastien POSTIC

La multiplication récente des systèmes de prix du carbone et la hausse des prix associés ont entraîné une forte hausse des revenus associés.  Au premier mai 2019, 25 taxes carbone et 26 marchés de quotas échangeables étaient en fonctionnement à travers le monde. Les juridictions couvertes par un ou plusieurs prix explicites du carbone représentent environ 60 % du PIB mondial. Les revenus associés à ces prix du carbone ont doublé en deux ans, passant de 22 milliards en 2016 à 44 milliards en 2018.  Cette tendance devrait se poursuivre dans le futur, du fait 1/ de l’augmentation du nombre de taxes et systèmes de quotas échangeables, et 2/ des prix imposés par ces systèmes : de récentes études suggèrent que des prix du carbone autour de 70 $/tCO2 pourraient générer des revenus équivalents à 1-4 points de PIB en 2030, presque partout dans le monde.

 

Bien utilisés, ces revenus peuvent permettre d’allier l’ambition climatique à une grande variété d’objectifs économiques et/ou sociaux, et participer ainsi à une communication efficace sur les bénéfices de telles politiques ; l’histoire a en effet montré que les prix du carbone remportent une large adhésion chez les spécialistes de politiques publiques pour la lutte contre le changement climatique, mais se heurtent partout à une grande méfiance auprès du grand public. Dans ce rapport rédigé avec la Banque Mondiale et l’AFD, avec le soutien de Vivid Economics, I4CE explore les facteurs qui sous-tendent les choix d’usage des revenus des prix du carbone à travers le monde, pour proposer un guide pratique aux décideurs qui mettent en place ou réévaluent leur prix du carbone national.

 

S’il est une leçon à tirer des expériences nationales balayées dans ce rapport, c’est que le sujet est éminemment empirique ; l’usage des revenus optimal dépend évidemment très finement de la structure économique du pays concerné, mais aussi de son contexte social, de son cadre institutionnel, et des équilibres politiques en présence ; il apparaît tout à fait impossible d’exhiber une solution universelle pour l’usage des revenus du carbone. Néanmoins, le rapport se concentre sur six catégories d’usage, qui peuvent être panachées suivant le contexte :

 

  1. Une réforme fiscale plus large, qui vise autant la croissance économique que la réduction des émissions;
  2. Un support additionnel aux efforts de réduction des émissions (par exemple en soutenant des technologies bas-carbone);
  3. La poursuite d’autres objectifs de développement, comme l’amélioration des politiques de santé et d’éducation;
  4. La lutte contre les fuites de carbone;
  5. Le soutien aux populations ou aux entreprises les plus affectées par les politiques climatiques, au moyen de transferts directs ou de programmes dédiés;
  6. La réduction de la dette, une autre façon d’améliorer l’équité intergénérationnelle.

 

Le tableau ci-dessous résume les avantages et les limites de ces différents usages des revenus:

 

Usage Avantages Limitations
Réforme fiscale

 

Peut améliorer l’efficacité du système fiscal, avec un impact positif pour l’emploi et la croissance

 

 

Moins visible que des options alternatives ; d’autre part, nécessite de cibler certaines exemptions de taxe pour soutenir les populations les plus affectées

 

Support à l’atténuation

 

Peut renforcer l’efficacité climat du prix du carbone, en complétant un mécanisme de marché par des soutiens directs ; peut soutenir des réductions d’émissions dans des secteurs non-couverts par le prix du carbone ; est généralement l’un des usages les mieux acceptés du public

 

 

Les coûts administratifs peuvent être élevés, en comparaison avec d’autres options. La complémentarité des approches nécessite des études amont approfondies

 

Autres objectifs de développement

 

Représente une source de revenus efficace pour les pays où existent des barriers à l’accès à la finance pour certains objectifs de développement

Peut être vecteur d’acceptabilité, selon la place dans l’opinion publique des thématiques adressées

 

 

Peut avoir des coûts administratifs élevés, si le système ne s’appuie pas sur des structures d’allocation des revenus déjà en place

 

Limitation des fuites de carbone

 

Réduit le risque d’augmentation d’émissions dans des juridictions non-couvertes

Réduit les impacts pour la compétitivité, sur le court terme

Est vecteur d’acceptabilité par les acteurs de l’économie

 

 

Le travail d’identification des secteurs à soutenir et des moyens pour le faire est important

Un design soigné est nécessaire pour ne pas contrecarrer les objectifs de réduction d’émissions

 

Soutien aux populations et acteurs économiques

 

Limite les impacts sociaux de l’action climatique

Coûts administratifs réduits, il est facile de s’appuyer sur des structures d’allocation existantes

 

 

Souvent moins visible que d’autres options d’usage des revenus (selon le canal de redistribution choisi) ; contribue donc moins à l’acceptation publique de la tarification

 

Réduction de la dette

 

Libère des capitaux, réduit le poids économique des intérêts

 

 

Visibilité très faible ; pas de contribution aux objectifs de court-terme

 

Plus d’informations : 

Contacts I4CE
Dr. Sébastien POSTIC
Dr. Sébastien POSTIC
Chef de projet – Industrie, énergie et climat Email
Pour aller plus loin
  • 02/12/2022
    La certification carbone européenne doit être exigeante… et attractive

    Comment différentier les projets qui permettent vraiment de stocker du carbone, des projets qui prétendent seulement le faire ? Question compliquée quand on s’intéresse à des projets dans l’agriculture et la forêt, pour lesquels la quantification du carbone stocké est complexe et se heurte au risque de non-permanence, et pour lesquels il faut aussi prendre en compte les autres défis environnementaux à commencer par la préservation de la biodiversité. Une question compliquée donc, mais une question qui nécessite une réponse ! Des acteurs privés et des pouvoirs publics veulent s’assurer que les projets agricoles et forestiers qu’ils financent au nom du climat ont un réel bénéfice environnemental.

  • 01/12/2022 Billet d'analyse
    Certification carbone : la Commission propose un cadre exigeant qui devra aussi être incitatif

    On y voit désormais plus clair sur le futur cadre de certification carbone européen, grâce à la proposition que la Commission vient de rendre publique. Cette proposition donne un cadre, de grands principes directeurs, et les détails seront précisés dès 2023 avec l’appui d’un groupe d’experts. Si le diable se cache dans les détails, le cadrage n’en est pas moins important. Claudine Foucherot d’[i4ce] l’a analysé et identifié quatre points sur lesquels il faudra être vigilant. De manière générale, on peut dire que la Commission fait une proposition ambitieuse qui présente cependant un risque : ne pas être suffisamment incitative pour permettre un déploiement massif des projets. 

  • 08/07/2022 Tribune
    Tribune | Rémunération carbone : nous avons besoin d’une certification européenne ambitieuse et pragmatique

    La Commission européenne va proposer d’ici la fin de l’année une « certification carbone », première étape vers la rémunération des agriculteurs et forestiers qui contribuent au stockage de carbone. Ce projet de certification soulève des débats et des inquiétudes. Pour l’Institut de l’économie pour le climat (I4CE), l’Union européenne peut y répondre et développer une certification ambitieuse en s’appuyant sur l’expérience des Etats membres en la matière.

Voir toutes les publications
Contact Presse Amélie FRITZ Responsable communication et relations presse Email
Inscrivez-vous à notre liste de diffusion :
Je m'inscris !
Inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter
Une fois par semaine, recevez toute l’information de l’économie pour le climat.
Je m'inscris !
Fermer