Michel CARDONA
Contact Team

Michel CARDONA

Senior associate Expert - Financial Sector, Risks and Climate Change

Michel joined I4CE in 2018 to provide expertise in the financial sector and facilitate interactions between researchers, financial sector actors and public authorities.

 

Before joining I4CE, Michel worked at the Banque de France in various areas related to the financial sector (licensing of new actors, banking supervision, prudential regulation, financial stability, Iinternational and European relations). He has also worked for the Inspection Department of the former French Securities and Exchange Commission (COB) and the World Bank’s Financial Sector Development Department in Washington. Between 2008 and 2012, he was Secretary General of CCLRF (Advisory Committee on Financial Legislation and Regulation). For the past two years, he was in charge of the Corporate Social Responsibility strategy of the Banque de France, in particular where he launched the bank’s Responsible Investment strategy.

 

Michel is a graduate of the Institute of Political Studies in Paris and holds a Diploma of Advanced Studies (DEA) in Macroeconomics from the University Paris I – Pantheon Sorbonne.

Team
Last contributions
  • 18/01/2023 Climate Brief

    The limitations of voluntary climate commitments from private financial actors

    Private finance will not fund the transition without a stronger commitment from public authorities. For several years, and particularly since COP 26, considerable time and attention has been dedicated to the subject of voluntary commitments from private financial actors. These commitments, made within the framework of international initiatives, should in principle enable private finance to be mobilized for the transition to a carbon neutral economy.
  • 08/06/2022 Climate Report

    Scenario analysis of transition risk in finance – Towards strategic integration of deep uncertainty

    The restructuring of the economy towards a low-carbon system will lead to develop activities that are aligned with the needs of a net zero economy, to restructure others in order to make them compatible with these needs and to stop harmful activities. The financial sector needs to anticipate these dynamics to address strategic risks and […]
  • 02/02/2021 Climate Report

    Addressing challenges of physical climate risk analysis in financial institutions

    While the financial consequences of climate impacts are already materializing, the regulators are implementing their agenda of actions to stimulate financial institutions into analyzing and managing their exposure to “physical climate risks”, and disclosing how they do so as recommended by the TCFD. How can financial actors make quick and efficient progress on analyzing and […]
  • 01/02/2021 Climate Report

    Can financial regulation accelerate the low-carbon transition?

    In recent years, financial regulators have encouraged financial actors to take account of “climate risks” in order to ensure both financial stability and the efficient functioning of markets, the two traditional objectives of regulation. This risk-based approach is an important first step, but will it be enough to deliver on climate objectives?
  • 01/02/2021 Climate Brief

    Can financial regulation accelerate the low-carbon transition? Summary for policymakers

    In recent years, financial regulators have encouraged financial actors to take account of “climate risks” in order to ensure both financial stability and the efficient functioning of markets, the two traditional objectives of regulation. This risk-based approach is an important first step, but will it be enough to deliver on climate objectives?
  • 22/10/2020 Blog post

    Financial Regulation and Climate : Next steps to follow in the coming months

    The public institutions that regulate and supervise private finance will talk a lot about climate change in the coming months. The European taxonomy that allows economic actors to identify activities that are favorable to ecological transition or the "climate stress tests" of the Banque de France and ACPR are just some of the issues they will have to deal with and that we invite you to follow. I4CE has synthesized for you the "climate calendar" of financial regulation in a graphics.
  • 04/06/2020 Op-ed

    Op-Ed I Financial regulation and “green recovery”

    The pandemic caused by Covid 19 has triggered a major economic crisis. The emergency treatment of this crisis relied heavily on massive recourse to fiscal and monetary instruments already widely used during the 2008 crisis. But financial regulation was also mobilized to ease or alleviate prudential constraints in order to preserve bank financing for economic players, especially those most affected by the crisis. This illustrates the different facets of the use of financial regulation: primarily intended to ensure the efficient functioning of financial markets and financial stability, it can also be used with economic policy objectives.
  • 04/06/2020 Climate Report

    What role for financial regulation to help the low-carbon transition?

    States and more generally public authorities will not finance the transition to a low-carbon and climate-resilient economy on their own. Private financial actors have a key role to play and, over the past decades, they have taken numerous initiatives to promote "responsible investment" and "sustainable finance". However, the impact of these initiatives is far from commensurate with the climate challenge, , and financial regulation must play a role. This I4CE study analyses the different objectives that regulators can pursue to help the financial sector respond to the climate urgency, and provides an overview of the instruments at their disposal. It also highlights the challenges of implementing these instruments and identifies those that need to be used in the short term and those that need more time to be implemented.
  • 12/03/2020 Op-ed

    Op Ed I Banks’ capital requirements for the climate: Let’s ask the right questions

    For several years now, the idea of using capital requirements for environmental purposes has been gaining ground. But before this can happen, however, several questions about such requirements need to be resolved, particularly as regards the instrument to be used and the objective to be achieved. Michel Cardona from I4CE has released this OpEd available on Euractiv
  • 11/03/2020 Climate Report

    Integrating Climate-related Risks into Banks’ Capital Requirements

    Climate change dynamics are on a trajectory of intensification which may require the use of new and notable measures. The Paris Agreement recognized the urgency of directing financial flows toward low carbon activities and climate-resilient development. However, the latest special Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) report 1 stated that to limit global warming to 1.5oC, the financial resources directed to green activities are by far insufficient and investments on carbon intensive projects are still far too high. At the same time, climate-related risks continue to potentially endanger the stability of the financial sector and they are only marginally addressed by Basel III capital requirements.
  • 28/11/2019 Climate Brief

    Finance fit for Paris (3fP) – Results and scores for France

    The global community needs to transform the world economy to become low-carbon and climate resilient. This is the commitment made by the international community in the Paris Climate Agreement. However, humanity needs to find a way to finance this goal. The European Commission estimates that a funding gap of at least EUR 180bn p.a. exist […]
  • 04/11/2019 Climate Report

    Towards an alternative approach in finance to climate risks: taking uncertainties fully into account

    It is no easy task to take climate risks – transition risks and physical risks – into account in financial management practices. As this note shows from the example of banking activities, the intrinsic characteristics of these risks – which are long-term and cannot be assigned a probability and for which there are no historical […]
  • 13/06/2019 Blog post

    It’s time to connect the international initiatives on Climate Finance!

    Since 2016, I4CE is the Secretariat of the Climate Action in Financial Institutions Initiative. Launched at COP21 in 2015, the Initiative brings together 44 public and private financial institutions to make climate change an essential component of their strategies & operations. Leveraging its expertise and network, I4CE assists the Initiative in fostering exchanges between the so-called “Supporting Institutions” on emerging practice and approaches to mainstream climate change.
  • 28/05/2019 Climate Brief

    Is financial regulation in France in line with the Paris Agreement?

    The financial system has an important role to play in financing the transition of the economy and the drastic reduction of greenhouse gas emissions, and must take into account in its activities the risks that climate change poses to it. The French government has begun to mobilize on the subject, as have the Paris financial […]
  • 21/11/2018 Climate Brief

    Article 173: Overview of climate-related financial dislosure after two years of implementation

    In 2015, article 173-VI of the French Energy Transition for Green Growth Act set a global precedent by requiring investors to be transparent on the climate impacts of their investments.   After two years of investor climate reporting, covering their activities in 2016 and 2017, what lessons can be drawn from article 173-VI? This is […]
  • 18/07/2018 Blog post

    Banque de France and I4CE become climate finance partners

    The Banque de France and I4CE are forming a partnership with the objective of enhancing the consideration of climate risks and opportunities by the financial sector. This partnership aims to facilitate the exchange of expertise between the two institutions, and more generally the interactions between researchers, financial sector actors, and public authorities. It will also support the work of the Banque de France within the Central Banks and Supervisors Network for Greening the Financial System (NGFS) that it launched at the One Planet Summit in December 2017.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Once a week, receive all the information on climate economics

Fermer

Michel CARDONA

Expert associé senior - Secteur financier, Risques et Changement climatique

Michel a rejoint I4CE en 2018 pour apporter son expertise sur le secteur financier et faciliter les interactions entre les chercheurs, les acteurs du secteur financier et les autorités publiques.

 

Avant de rejoindre I4CE, Michel a travaillé à la Banque de France dans différents domaines reliés au secteur financier (agrément des nouveaux acteurs, supervision bancaire, régulation prudentielle, stabilité financière, relations internationales et européennes). Il a également travaillé au service de l’inspection de la Commission des Opérations de Bourse et au Financial Sector Development Département de la Banque Mondiale à Washington. Entre 2008 et 2012, il a été Secrétaire Général du CCLRF (Comité Consultatif de la Législation et de la Réglementation Financières). Depuis deux ans, il s’est occupé plus particulièrement de la stratégie de Responsabilité Sociale d’Entreprise de la Banque de France dont il a en particulier initié la démarche d’Investissement Responsable.

 

Michel est diplômé de l’Institut d’Etudes Politiques de Paris et détient un Diplôme d’Etudes Approfondies (DEA) de Macro-économie de l’Université Paris I – Panthéon Sorbonne.

Équipe
Dernières contributions
  • 15/12/2022 Point Climat

    Les limites des engagements climat volontaires des acteurs financiers privés

    La finance privée ne financera pas la transition sans un engagement plus fort des pouvoirs publics. Depuis plusieurs années, et particulièrement depuis la COP 26, beaucoup d’attention et de temps ont été consacrés aux engagements volontaires des acteurs financiers privés. Pris dans le cadre d’initiatives internationales, ces engagements doivent en principe permettre de mobiliser la finance privée au profit de la transition vers une économie neutre en carbone.
  • 31/05/2022 Etude Climat

    Analyse par scénarios du risque de transition en finance – Vers une intégration stratégique de l’incertitude profonde

    La restructuration de l'économie vers un système à faible émission de carbone implique de développer les activités alignées sur les besoins d'une économie nette zéro, d’en restructurer d'autres afin de les rendre compatibles avec ces besoins et d’arrêter les activités nuisibles. Le secteur financier doit anticiper ces dynamiques afin de faire face aux risques stratégiques et de saisir les opportunités qui s'offrent à lui dans ses activités.
  • 02/02/2021 Etude Climat

    Relever les défis de l’analyse du risque climatique physique en finance

    Alors que les impacts financiers du changement climatique se matérialisent déjà, les régulateurs incitent activement les institutions financières à analyser et gérer leur exposition aux « risques climatiques physiques », et à expliquer comment elles s’y prennent suivant les recommandations de la TCFD. Comment les acteurs financiers peuvent-ils se saisir efficacement de cet exercice nouveau ?
  • 29/01/2021 Etude Climat

    La réglementation financière peut-elle accélérer la transition bas-carbone ?

    Ces dernières années, les régulateurs de la finance ont incité les acteurs financiers à prendre en compte les « risques climatiques » afin d’assurer à la fois la stabilité financière et le bon fonctionnement des marchés, les deux objectifs traditionnels de la régulation. Cette approche par les risques est un premier pas important, mais sera-t-elle suffisante pour atteindre les objectifs climatiques ?
  • 29/01/2021 Point Climat

    La réglementation financière peut-elle accélérer la transition bas-carbone? – Résumé pour décideurs

    Ces dernières années, les régulateurs de la finance ont incité les acteurs financiers à prendre en compte les « risques climatiques » afin d’assurer à la fois la stabilité financière et le bon fonctionnement des marchés, les deux objectifs traditionnels de la régulation. Cette approche par les risques est un premier pas important, mais sera-t-elle suffisante pour atteindre les objectifs climatiques ?
  • 22/10/2020 Billet d'analyse

    Régulation financière : les dossiers climat à suivre dans les prochains mois

    Les institutions publiques qui régulent et supervisent la finance privée vont beaucoup parler dérèglement climatique dans les prochains mois. La taxonomie européenne qui permet aux acteurs économiques d’identifier les activités favorables à la transition écologique ou les « stress tests climatiques » de la Banque de France et de l’ACPR ne sont que quelques-uns des dossiers qu’ils auront à traiter et que nous vous invitons à suivre. I4CE a synthétisé pour vous le « calendrier climat » de la régulation financière en une infographie.
  • 05/06/2020 Etude Climat

    Quel rôle pour la réglementation financière dans la transition bas-carbone ?

    Les Etats et plus généralement les pouvoirs publics ne financeront pas seuls la transition vers une économie bas carbone et résiliente aux changement climatiques. Les acteurs financiers privés ont un rôle essentiel à jouer et, au cours des dernières décennies, ils ont pris de nombreuses initiatives pour promouvoir l’« investissement responsable » et la « finance durable ». Cependant, l’impact de ces initiatives est loin d’être à la hauteur du défi climatique, c’est pourquoi la réglementation financière a un rôle à jouer.
  • 04/06/2020 Tribune

    Tribune I Réglementation financière et « relance verte »

    La pandémie provoquée par le Covid 19 a déclenché une crise économique majeure. Le traitement d’urgence de cette crise s’est largement appuyé sur un recours massif aux instruments fiscaux et monétaires déjà largement utilisés lors de la crise de 2008. Mais la réglementation financière a aussi été mobilisée pour alléger ou assouplir les contraintes prudentielles afin de préserver le financement bancaire des acteurs économiques, notamment ceux les plus touchés par la crise. Ceci illustre les différentes facettes de l’utilisation de la réglementation financière : prioritairement destinée à assurer le fonctionnement efficace des marchés financiers et la stabilité financière, elle peut également être utilisée avec des objectifs de politique économique.
  • 12/03/2020 Tribune

    Tribune I Exigences de capital des banques pour le climat : posons-nous les bonnes questions

    Depuis plusieurs années, l’idée d’utiliser les exigences de fonds propres à des fins environnementales fait son chemin. Mais avant d’en arriver là, plusieurs questions sur ce type d’exigence doivent être résolues, notamment en ce qui concerne l’instrument à utiliser et l’objectif à réaliser. Michel Cardona, conseiller senior publie cette Tribune sur Euractiv.
  • 11/03/2020 Etude Climat

    Intégrer les risques liés au climat dans les exigences de fonds propres des banques

    La dynamique du changement climatique est en voie d’intensification, ce qui pourrait imposer le recours à de mesures nouvelles et significatives. L’Accord de Paris a reconnu qu’il était urgent d’orienter les flux financiers vers des activités bas-carbone et un développement résilient au climat. Toutefois, le dernier rapport spécial du Groupe d’experts intergouvernemental sur l’évolution du climat (GIEC) indique que pour limiter le réchauffement climatique à 1,5 °C, les ressources financières consacrées aux activités vertes sont largement insuffisantes et les investissements dans les projets à forte intensité de carbone sont encore beaucoup trop élevés. Parallèlement, les risques liés au climat continuent de menacer la stabilité du secteur financier et ne sont que marginalement pris en compte par les exigences de fonds propres de Bâle III.
  • 28/11/2019 Point Climat

    Finance fit for Paris – Évaluation de la réglementation financière en France et en Europe

    L’économie mondiale doit se transformer pour devenir neutre en carbone et résiliente aux changements climatiques. C’est l’engagement pris par la communauté internationale dans l’Accord de Paris sur le climat. Cependant, l’humanité doit trouver un moyen de financer cette transformation. Au niveau européen, la Commission estime qu’un déficit de financement d’au moins 180 milliards d’EUR par […]
  • 04/11/2019 Etude Climat

    Pour une autre approche du risque climatique en finance – Tenir pleinement compte des incertitudes

    L’intégration des risques climatiques dans les pratiques de gestion financière n’est pas une chose aisée. En effet, comme le montre cette note à partir de l’exemple des activités bancaires, les caractéristiques intrinsèques de ces risques – de long terme, non probabilisables et sans historiques – sont souvent difficilement compatibles avec les processus standards qui reposent […]
  • 13/06/2019 Billet d'analyse

    Il est temps de connecter les initiatives internationales sur la finance climat !

    Depuis 2016, I4CE est le Secrétariat de l'Initiative "Climate Action in Financial Institutions " (Action pour le climat dans les institutions financières). Lancée à COP21 en 2015, l'Initiative rassemble 44 institutions financières publiques et privées pour faire du changement climatique une composante essentielle de leurs stratégies. Tirant parti de son expertise et de son réseau, I4CE aide l'Initiative à favoriser les échanges entre les "Institutions d'appui " sur les pratiques et approches émergentes en matière d'intégration du changement climatique.
  • 28/05/2019 Point Climat

    La réglementation financière en France est-elle à la hauteur de l’Accord de Paris ?

    Le système financier a un rôle important à jouer pour financer la transition de l’économie et la réduction drastique des émissions de gaz à effet de serre, et doit prendre en compte dans ses activités les risques que le changement climatique fait peser sur lui. Le gouvernement français a commencé à se mobiliser sur le […]
  • 21/11/2018 Point Climat

    Article 173-VI : bilan du reporting climat après deux ans d’application

    En 2015, l’article 173-VI de la loi de Transition énergétique créait un précédent mondial, en obligeant les investisseurs à être transparents sur l’impact de leurs investissements en matière de climat. Après deux ans de reporting climat par les investisseurs, portant sur leurs activités 2016 et 2017, quel bilan tirer de cet article 173-VI ? C’est la […]
  • 18/07/2018 Billet d'analyse

    La Banque de France et I4CE deviennent partenaires pour la finance climat

    Pour accélérer la prise en compte des risques et opportunités climatiques par le secteur financier, la Banque de France et I4CE deviennent partenaires. Ce partenariat vise à faciliter l’échange d’expertise entre les deux institutions, et plus généralement les interactions entre les chercheurs, les acteurs du secteur financier et les autorités publiques. Il permettra également de soutenir les travaux de la Banque de France au sein du réseau des banques centrales et des superviseurs pour le verdissement du système financier (NGFS - Network for Greening the Financial System), qu’elle a lancé lors du One Planet Summit de décembre 2017.

Inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter

Une fois par semaine, recevez toute l’information de l’économie pour le climat.

Fermer